EAST CENTRAL KANSAS COOPERATIVE IN EDUCATION--INTERLOCAL #614

May 10, 2011 - Board Minutes

The regularly scheduled meeting of the East Central Kansas Cooperative in Education Board of Directors was held May 10, 2011 at the Cooperative Central Office. Members present were Ruth Barkley, Blaine Cone, Juanita Peckham, Susan Rader, Belinda Rehmer, Eric Votaw, and Susan Christensen, Director and Brenda Clark, temporary Clerk of the Board.

Belinda Rehmer, President, asked for a motion to appoint Brenda Clark as temporary Clerk of the Board for this meeting. Blaine Cone made the motion and Eric Votaw seconded and the motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Belinda Rehmer called the meeting to order at 7:06 pm.

Opening Business

Changes, Additions and Adoptions of the Agenda

Susan Rader made a motion to accept the agenda as amended above; Juanita Peckham seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Approval of the April Board Meeting Minutes

Ruth Barkley made a motion to approve and accept the minutes of the May board meeting as presented. Blaine Cone seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Approval of Financial Reports and Disbursements

Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve and accept the financial reports and disbursements as presented. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Executive Session

At 7:ll pm Susan Rader made a motion to go into Executive Session for 10 minutes for the purpose of discussing personnel issues. Ruth Barkley seconded the motion. Susan Christensen, director, was asked to attend the executive session. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote. Board reconvened to open session at 7:21 pm.

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to return to Executive Session for an additional 5 minutes. Susan Rader seconded the motion and motion passed with a 6-0 vote. Susan Christensen, director, was asked to be in attendance. Board retired into executive session at 7:22 pm and reconvened to open session at 7:27 pm.

Old Business

There was no old business to discuss. However, the board did request to review alternative evaluation forms for the director over the next couple of months. This item will be added to future agendas.

New Business

Accept Resignations

Eric Votaw made a motion to accept the para resignations of Megan Ballock, Eudora Middle School; Amy Duran, Eudora Elementary; Lauren Durkin, Eudora Middle School; and Rachel Hogue, Marion Springs Elementary effective at the end of the 2010-11 school year. Blaine Cone seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Approve New 2011-12 Certified Contract

Eric Votaw made a motion to approve the 2011-12 contract for Jill Venable for the Baldwin High School IRR position and for Kathy Braithwaite for the Eudora High School Life Skills classroom. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Approve PT Contracts for the 2011-12 School Year

Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve the 2011-12 contracts for Physical Therapists, Jennie Atwood, Brenna Randall and Doreen Murphy who provide services to the students in Baldwin, Eudora and Wellsville. Eric Votaw seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Approve Assistive Tech Contract for the 2011-12 School Year

Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve the 2011-12 contract for Cathy Drobny, Assistive Technology Consultant. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Certified Pay Increase for 2010-11

Motion was made and amended by Eric Votaw to increase Certified Staff salaries, which will be retroactive, by allowing movement on the salary schedule down and across with the total staff expenditure not to exceed \$55,200. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Classified Pay Increase for 2010-11

Juanita Peckham made a motion to increase Classified Staff salaries, which will be retroactive, by providing a 1.1% increase of their current salaries. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Administrative and Office Pay Increase for 2010-11

Eric Votaw made a motion to increase Administrative and Office Staff salaries, which will be retroactive, by providing a 1.1% increase of their current salaries. Blaine Cone seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

Approve 2011 ESY Contracts

Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve the following staff for the extended school year:

Certified **Paraeducators** Jessica Barker Rachel Campbell Pam Dixson Berube Tina Clark Jennica Hammerschmidt Adam Franz Carol Hopping Julie Hamilton Jessica Iverson Kris Jamison Eloise Kerbs Amber Koons Claire Kueffer Sara Lindsay Jean Osborn Kahla Martin Judy Rose Janet Reynolds Samantha Thibodeau Erica Ulrich Andrew Wright

Director's Reports

- Reported that 56 applications were received for the 3 certified positions open for the 2011-1 school year
- Discussed the findings and solution in process regarding a formal complaint
- Provided information to the Board regarding the format and procedures of building level Transition Meetings being held in all three districts

Susan Rader made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:15 pm. Ruth Barkley seconded the motion and it passed with a 6-0 vote.

These minutes are subject to final approval at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.

Respectfully Submitted By Brenda Clark, 'temporary' Clerk of the Board