EAST CENTRAL KANSAS COOPERATIVE IN EDUCATION--INTERLOCAL #614 June 14, 2011 - Board Minutes

The regularly scheduled meeting of the East Central Kansas Cooperative in Education Board of Directors was held June 14, 2011 at the Cooperative Central Office. Members present were Blaine Cone, Ruth Barkley, Susan Rader, Juanita Peckham Eric Votaw, Susan Christensen, Director and Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board. Belinda Rehmer was unable to attend.

Eric Votaw, Vice-President, called the meeting to order at 7:07 pm.

Opening Business

Changes, Additions and Adoptions of the Agenda

There were no changes to the agenda.

Approval of the April Board Meeting Minutes

Blaine Cone made a motion to approve the minutes of the May board meeting as presented. Ruth Barkley seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Approval of Financial Reports and Disbursements

Blaine Cone made a motion to approve the financial reports and disbursements as presented. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Approve Year End Expenditures

Eric Votaw made a motion to approve the anticipated expenditures presented not to exceed \$25000 over budget which does not include any monthly standard expenses and to adjust the budget so as not to violate Kansas Statutes. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Executive Session

Ruth Barkley made a motion to go into Executive Session at 7:15 pm for 10 minutes for the purpose of discussing personnel matters with Susan Christensen, Director. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote. Board reconvened to open session at 7:25 pm.

Ruth Barkley made a motion to go into Executive Session again at 7:25 pm for 5 minutes for the purpose of discussing personnel matters with Susan Christensen, Director. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote. Board reconvened to open session at 7:30 pm.

New Business

Accept Resignations

Juanita Peckham made a motion to accept the resignations Lee Hanson, Baldwin IC certified teacher and Tina Clark, Eudora Middle School paraeducator. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Approve New 2011-12 Certified Contract

Blaine Cone made a motion to approve the 2011-12 contract for Marcy Fergola, Eudora Middle School IRR. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Approve 2011-2012 Certified Staff

Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve the following certified staff for the 2011-2012 school year:

Becky Goodwin

Janelle Arb Holly Balch Jessica Barker Laura Beaulieu Veronica Blair Pam Berube Mary Bessey Jean Bouse Ruth Burks Jamie Carey Caitlin Coe Shauna Cushman Betsy Daniel Laura Davids Charles Davis Pam Davis Janet Delgado Heidi DuBois Katie Fender Ruth Foehringer

Jennifer Gomez

Jennica Hammerschmidt Barbara Hartwell Jennifer Herrington Justin Hoffman Vanessa Hoosier Carol Hopping Jessica Iverson Michelle Johnson Elaine Kautsch Janet Kelly Eloise Kerbs Barbara Kessler Deanna Kessler-Miley Claire Kueffer Loretta Lauinger Sara Lindsay Justin Mayer Melissa McCauley **Chad Motter**

Linda Nyhart Jean Osborn Ty Pattison Sara Platt Rosemary Pratt Nicole Ramirez Jeanne Reese Judy Rose David Ross Amber Sabharwall Barbara Schwering Janet Slaven Stephanie Soden Cheryl Taggart Samantha Thibodeau Linda Troutfetter Sheila Vander Tuig Jana Wallen Janey Wiseman Andrew Wright Carol Wright

Blaine Cone seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Approve 2011-12 Paraeducators

Blaine Cone made a motion to approve the following 2011-12 Paraeducators:

Pam Allen	Ryan Fricke	Renee Linder	Patricia Roberts
Tessa Becker	Deb Galloway	Karen Lintner	Trish Rood
Tricia Behrend	Trenda Garrett	Jack Livella	Cameo Rossi
Paula Bowlin	Kristie Geist	Terri Maring	Lisa Russell
Christina Brewster	Cathy Gilges	Kahla Martin	Tracy Russell
Aurora Brune	Lisa Green	Paula Mason	Linda Samsel
John Bryant, Jr	Heather Haas	Terri Mills	Tina Schrock
Dawn Calderwood	Julie Hamilton	Kristina Ormsby	Kelly Schwartz
Rachel Campbell	Terri Hazelwood	Patti Ousdahl	Janell Shalkoski
Susan Carnagie	Kristal Holland	Nicole Parks	Theresa Sickler
Samantha Cheek	Jacqueline Holtz	Christina Partridge	Suzanne Nelson-Smith
Mallorie Cleveland	Rosina Houle	Jamie Peppers	Darlene Taylor
Bev Deardroff	Deb Howard	Laura Phlipot	Karen Thomas
Nelina Dighans	Donna Hughes	Diane Pittenger	Erica Ulrich
Heidi Elliott	Kris Jamison	Maggie Quirarte	Melissa Vertin
Kim Farmer	Jeanne Johnson	Debra Reed	Joanne Vesecky
Perry Fletcher	Lynn Killingsworth	Myrna Renoud	Jeannie Vonderbrink
Cindy Foster	Sarah Koelzer	Janet Reynolds	Kim Waggoner
Adam Franz	Amber Koons	Michelle Roberts	Autmn Weiss
	Laura Linder		Patti Welty

Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Approve ESY Contract

Blaine Cone made a motion to approve the ESY contract for Betsy Daniel. Juanita Peckham seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

KASB Membership

Blaine Cone made motion to approve the renewal of the Kansas Association of School Boards membership. Juanita Peckham seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

ESY Tuition at Kansas School for the Deaf

Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve the extended school year tuition for a student at Kansas School for the Deaf. Ruth Barkley seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Year End Expenditure

Ruth Barkley made a motion to rescind the previous motion and vote for the year end expenditures. Blaine Cone seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Blaine Cone made a motion to authorize the anticipated expenditures presented, not to exceed \$25,000 over budget which does not include any monthly standard expenses, plus KSD Interpreter fees not to exceed \$5,000 and to adjust the budget so as not to violate Kansas Statutes. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

Approve FY12 Budget

Blaine Cone made a motion to approve the FY12 budget as proposed. Eric Votaw seconded the motion and it passed by a 5-0 vote.

Director's Reports

- The formal complaint in Eudora has been resolved
- Staff changes: EMS IRR teacher was moved to B-IC IRR position
- Update of the number of IEP students over the past year
- All three districts had the largest number of IEP students graduating this year
- Susan thanked Blaine Cone for her 8 years of service on the Cooperative Board

Blaine Cone made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:23 pm. Susan Rader seconded the motion and it passed with a 5-0 vote.

These minutes are subject to final approval at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.