# EAST CENTRAL KANSAS COOPERATIVE IN EDUCATION--INTERLOCAL #614 June 12, 2012 - Board Minutes

The regularly scheduled meeting of the East Central Kansas Cooperative in Education Board of Directors was held June 12, 2012 at the Cooperative Central Office. Members present were Ruth Barkley, Belinda Rehmer, Mike Kelso, Juanita Peckham, Sandy Chapman, Susan Rader, Susan Christensen, Director and Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board.

Ruth Barkley, Board President, called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.

#### **Pam Davis Presentation**

Postponed.

#### **Opening Business**

## Changes, Additions and Adoptions of the Agenda

Additions to the agenda: Under Old Business-B. Absent Board Member Participation; Under New Business-E. Summer School and addition to item A under New Business-Add Paraeducator Coordinator, Board Clerk and Staff Secretary/Treasurer.

Susan Rader made a motion to approve the agenda as amended. Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

## **Approval of the May Board Meeting Minutes**

Juanita Peckham recommended to amend the motion of the PT, MT and AT contracts to read contracts approved at the same rate as 2012. Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve the minutes of the June board meeting as amended. Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

## **Approval of Financial Reports and Disbursements**

Sandy Chapman made a motion to approve the financial reports and check disbursements as presented. Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

## **Approve Year End Expenditures**

Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve the year end expenditures up to \$875,000. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

#### **Executive Session**

Not needed

## Old Business Contract Wording

Tabled

## **Absent Board Member Participation**

The board agreed by consensus that whenever possible, an absent member will call in to the meeting and participate via phone.

## New Business

Approve 2012-2013 Returning Certified, Classified Staff, Paraeducator Facilitator, Board Clerk and Staff Secretary/Treasurer

Sandy Chapman made motion to approve the 2012-2013 returning certified staff, returning classified staff, Paraeducator Facilitator, Clerk of the Board and Staff Secretary/Treasurer as follows

Certified

Jamie Carey

Marcy Fergola

Janelle Arb Barb Kessler

Deanna Kessler-Miley

Jean Osborn

**David Ross** 

Holly Balch Jessica Barker Claire Kueffer Laura Beaulieu Loretta Lauinger Mary Bessey Sara Lindsay Veronica Blair Justin Mayer Jean Bouse Melissa McCauley Kathy Braithwaite **Chad Motter** Ruth Burks Linda Nyhart

Caitlin Coe Ty Pattison Sara Platt Shauna Cushman Laura Davids Rosemary Pratt Chuck Davis Jan Prough Pam Davis Nicole Ramirez Janet Delgado Jeanne Reese Heidi DuBois Pam Ridenour Katie Fender Judy Rose

Ruth Foehringer Amber Sabharwall Jennifer Gomez Barb Schwering Becky Goodwin Janet Slaven Jennica Hammerschmidt Steph Soden Barbie Hartwell Cheri Taggart Linda Troutfetter Jennifer Herrington Vanessa Hoosier Betsy Ulrich

Sheila Vander Tuig Carol Hopping

Jessica Iverson Jill Venable Michelle Johnson Jana Wallen Elaine Kautsch Janey Wiseman Janet Kelly Andrew Wright Eloise Kerbs Carol Wright

Green Lisa

## **Paraeducators** Allen Pam

Peppers Jamie Arnold Amanda J Hamilton Julie Pittenger Diane Behrend Tricia Hevel Lori L Quirarte Maggie Belt Caitlin Holtz Jackie Reed Debra Bowlin Paula Houle Rosina Renoud Myrna **Brewster Christina** Howard Deb Reynolds Janet Brune Aurora **Hughes Donna** Roberts Michelle Rood Trisha Bryant Richie Johnson Michelle Campbell Rachel Johnson Tammy J Russell Lisa Russell Tracy Carnagie Susan Jones, Alicia Coffey Dawn M Killingsworth Lynn Samsel Linda Deardorff Bev King Joe D Schafer Cordia G Dighans Nelina Koelzer/Helm Sarah Schrock Tina Downey Jennifer L Koons Amber Schwartz Kelly Eaton Maggie Lamson Jackie J Shalkoski Janell Elliott Heidi Smith Kim R .5 Linder Laura Farmer Kim Lintner Karen Smith Suzanne Fletcher Perry Livella Jack Stuart Sarah Bailey Thomas Karen Foster Cindy Martin Kahla Mason Paula Trober Amanda Fritzsche Sharon K Galloway Deb Mignot Christina M Ulrich Erica Garrison Amanda Miller Anna L Vann Bekah Garrett Trenda Mills Terri Vertin Melissa Gilges Cathy Ormsby Kristina Vesecky Joanna Gloshen Emily I O'Rourke Ashley C Weiss Autumn Goodwin Jeanene M Parks Nicole Welty Patti

Willis Christina Wolnik Patricia

#### Office Staff: Paraeducator Coordinator, Board Clerk and Staff Secretary/Treasurer

Brenda Mundinger Sue Martin Brenda Clark

Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

#### Approval of New 2012-2013 Certified Contracts

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to approve the following new 2012-2013 certified contracts:

Randi Barnett – BHS Charlotte Grimshaw – WEBS 6-12 Abbey Vieux-Revell – EES Lorie Smith – WES

Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

## Acceptance of Resignations for 2012-2013

Juanita Peckham made a motion to accept following 2012-2013 resignations:

Certified Paraprofessional Resignations

Samantha Thibodeau Cybill Coates

Mallorie Cleveland Terri Flores Mary Huddleston Laura Phlipot Danielle Steffen Fran Williams Brook Wornkey

Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

### **Approval of ESY Contracts**

Sandy Chapman made a motion to approve the following ESY contracts as presented:

Certified

Holly Balch
Veronica Blair
Richard Fergola

Jessica Barker
Cathy Drobny
Barb Schwering

Sheila Vander Tuig

<u>Paraprofessionals</u>

Belinda Base Terri Mills Betty Pickerel Caitlin Belt Cybil Coates Trish Rood Jennifer Downey **Bailey Stuart** Lori Hevel Amanda Trober Alicia Jones Erica Ulrich Kahla Martin Melissa Vertin Christine Mignot Christina Willis

Susan Rader seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

#### Approval of FY13 Budget

Juanita Peckham made a motion to approve the FY13 budget in the amount of \$5,790,211. Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

## **Summer School**

Susan explained how summer school and transportation was arranged.

## **Director's Reports**

• Discussed concerns about the ECKCE office location. It will remain at the current location.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

Sandy Chapman made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote. The meeting was adjourned at 8:17 pm.

These minutes are subject to final approval at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.

Respectfully Submitted By Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board