# EAST CENTRAL KANSAS COOPERATIVE IN EDUCATION--INTERLOCAL #614

## August 9, 2011 - Board Minutes

The regularly scheduled meeting of the East Central Kansas Cooperative in Education Board of Directors was held August 9, 2011 at the Cooperative Central Office. Members present were Ruth Barkley, Sandy Chapman, Mike Kelso, new Eudora Board member, Belinda Rehmer, Susan Christensen, Director and Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board. Juanita Peckham and Susan Rader were unable to attend.

Ruth Barkley, Board President, called the meeting to order at 7:15 pm.

### **Opening Business**

### Changes, Additions and Adoptions of the Agenda

Mike Kelso asked that the second Roman Numeral IV on the agenda be corrected to show V. Sandy Chapman asked that items 1. and 2. under the Director's Reports be changed to A. and B. Those changes were made.

#### Approval of the August Board Meeting Minutes

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to approve the minutes of the July board meeting as presented. Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote.

## Approval of Financial Reports and Disbursements

Sandy Chapman made a motion to approve the financial reports and disbursements for July, 2011. Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote.

#### **Executive Session**

Ruth Barkley made a motion to go into Executive Session at 7:22 pm for 5 minutes for the purpose of discussing personnel matters with Susan Christensen. Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote. Board reconvened to open session at 7:27 pm.

### Old Business

**Discuss Interlocal Agreement for New Board Members** Susan summarized the agreement for the new members.

## New Business

## **Approval of Resignations**

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to accept the following paraeducator resignations:

Dawn Calderwood	Terri Maring
Kristina Crawford	Heather Miller
Kris Jamison	Theresa Sickler
Renee Linder	Kim Waggoner

Ruth Barkley seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote.

#### **Approval of Paraeducator Agreements**

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to approve the following 2011-2012 paraeducator agreements:

Dawn Coffey	BES-IC	Christina Mignot	WMS
Sharon Fritzsche	BES-IC	Ashli Olivera	EHS
Amanda Garrison	EHS	Ashley O'Rourke	BES-PC
Emily Gloshen	EMS	Cordia Schafer	BES-IC
Jeanene Goodwin	EMS	Brandi Simpson	EHS
Lori Hevel	EES	Bailey Stuart	BJH
Courtney Jarvis	BHS	Kamea Thompson	EES
Joe King	BJH	Jennifer Tuley	EMS
		Christina Willis	WES

Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote.

#### Approval of Certified Contract

Sandy Chapman made a motion to accept the certified contract as presented for Nicole Rabinowitz, EMS. Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote.

#### Approval of Lakemary Contract for Student Services

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to accept the 2011-2012 Lakemary contract for student services. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote.

#### Director's Reports

- Susan informed the Board that there are 4 ½ paraeducator positions still needing to be filled.
  - Susan updated the Board on inservice dates for both certified staff and paraeducators for the year.

Sandy Chapman made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote. The meeting was adjourned at 8:09 pm.

These minutes are subject to final approval at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.

Respectfully Submitted By Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board