EAST CENTRAL KANSAS COOPERATIVE IN EDUCATION March 19, 2024, BOARD MINUTES

The regular meeting of the East Central Kansas Cooperative in Education Board of Directors was held March 19, 2024, at ECKCE 608 High Street, Baldwin City, Kansas.

Members Present: Chris Perry, Jamie Cox, Amanda Donovan, Zach Brooks, Claire Harding, Deb McCullough, Daniel Wray, Director, Jim Persinger, Asst Director, and Shelly McCart, Clerk of the Board.

Additional attendees: Lee Hanson

Board President Chris Perry called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Public Comment

Lee Hanson stated she was happy to be hired as the new Director and that Dan has been introducing her to some of the aspects of ECKCE. She has also been substituting in the member districts to help get a sense of the communities she will serve as Director.

Opening Business

Chris Perry added 5c. Licensure Reimbursement Proposal Approval of Agenda as Amended

Motion: Chris Perry Second: Claire Harding Motion approved 6-0

Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes for February 13, 2024, and Special Meeting Minutes for February 22, 23, and 27, 2024

Motion: Claire Harding Second: Chris Perry Motion approved 6-0

Approval of the Financial Reports and Disbursements/Ledger Report as Presented

Motion: Claire Harding Second: Amanda Donovan Motion approved 6-0

Old Business

Strategic Plan Update:

Director Dan Wray shared the updated Flippity Chart:

Item 3h. Survey Students - updated to 75% as the survey is ready to be emailed to the 6th-12th graders on IEPs. Jim reported that there will be 16 questions that they can answer anonymously and showed how they can respond to the questions with a smile or frown face with a slider in between.

Item 2b. PowerSchool and data migration has had zero growth and item 3d. Increased communication and leverage during the legislative session was also discussed.

New Business

Approval of the KASB Legal Assistance Fund Contract for 2024-25 as Presented

Motion: Claire Harding

Second: Jamie Cox Motion approved: 6-0

Approval of the KASB Membership Renewal and Season Pass Invoice for 2024-25

Motion: Claire Harding Second: Chris Perry Motion approved: 6-0

Approval of the Sunflower Music Therapy Contract for 2024-25 as Presented

Motion: Jamie Cox

Second: Deb McCullough Motion approved: 6-0

Discussion regarding the related service providers' licensure reimbursement was discussed and tabled until the April meeting to allow Dan to clarify policy with KASB.

Director's Report

- Personnel –We received a resignation from our 2nd grade resource teacher at the BPC and have filled that position internally with a transfer from EES. That position will be interviewed for, and we already have a strong applicant. We also filled the positions at the BIC and WES for the fall. We received a resignation for the WEBS administrator position, and it has been posted internally and externally.
- ESU teaching career fair—We had a good turnout for the fair this month—we got a pair of leads and will be following up on those soon.
- Legislative Update Things continue to progress and there is optimism that this
 legislative session will produce an increase in special education funding per the
 governor's recommendation. I will be working with our new director to present some
 assessment projections based upon the status quo and upon the legislative increase.
- Negotiations The annual negotiations training required by the Kansas statute has been completed by those participating in negotiations this year to the best of my knowledge. I would like some input on how the negotiations session should proceed considering the transition to new leadership but would also welcome a conversation about items to negotiate in the executive session. This will generate the letter for exchange on March 31.
- SEAC Update We have plans to hold another SEAC meeting to introduce the new director sometime in April. Our February meeting was small but mighty and produced some good conversation.

Board Member Input

Executive Session

Board President Chris Perry made a motion to enter executive session to discuss personnel with Director Dan Wray, Asst. Director Jim Persinger, and Lee Hanson, pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and returning to open session at 8:22 p.m.

Second: Claire Harding Motion approved 6-0

The open meeting resumed at 8:22 p.m.

Board President Chris Perry made a motion to enter executive session to discuss the negotiation process regarding the change of leadership with Director Dan Wray, Asst. Director Jim Persinger, and Lee Hanson, pursuant to the exception for employer-employee negotiations under KOMA, and returning to open session at 8:35 p.m.

Second: Jamie Cox Motion approved 6-0

The open meeting resumed at 8:35 p.m.

Board President Chris Perry made a motion to enter executive session to discuss negotiation items with Director Dan Wray, Asst. Director Jim Persinger, and Lee Hanson, pursuant to the exception for employer-employee negotiations under KOMA, and returning to open session at 8:40 p.m.

Second: Jamie Cox Motion approved 6-0

The open meeting resumed at 8:40 p.m.

Board President Chris Perry made a motion to enter executive session to discuss personnel with Director Dan Wray, and Lee Hanson, pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and returning to open session at 8:55 p.m.

Second: Amanda Donovan Motion approved 6-0

The open meeting resumed at 8:55 p.m.

Board President Chris Perry made a motion to enter executive session to discuss personnel with Director Dan Wray, and Lee Hanson, pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and returning to open session at 9:05 p.m.

Second: Amanda Donovan Motion approved 6-0

The open meeting resumed at 9:05 p.m.

Approve Personnel Report as Presented

Motion: Claire Harding Second: Amanda Donovan Motion approved 6-0

Meeting Adjournment

Motion: Jamie Cox Second: Deb McCullough Motion approved 6-0

The meeting was adjourned at 9:09 p.m.

These minutes are subject to final approval at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting. Shelly McCart, Clerk of the Board

Action on Personnel

Resignations

Paras:

Ashton Hawkins, BJHS

Certified:

Hillary Hoffman, BPC Richard Todd Schroeder, WEBS Administrator

Hirings/Changes

Paras:

Shelly Markley, WES Tasia Hanson, EES Jessica Tyler, BJHS

Certified:

Brandy Nolan, BIC Autumn Blakesley, transfer from EES to BPC Amber Booten, WES